Des communautés se battent contre des cultivateurs de coca

L’Etat péruvien reconnaît officiellement les gardiens de la forêt

Pérou

Durée: 7:42


Available in 5 Langues


Lancement: septembre 2017

Click to play video

Roberto, Teofilo et la communauté Shipibo Conibo gèrent leur forêt depuis des décennies. Ils ont pour cela utilisé un système innovant de surveillance de la forêt, qui comprend des patrouilles à pied traditionnelles et les plus récentes technologies dont le GPS, des applications pour smartphone, des alertes sur la déforestation générées par satellite ainsi que des drones. Ces outils ont permis aux surveillants issus des communautés, ainsi qu’aux officiels du gouvernement, de localiser et d’identifier les personnes s’installant sur les terres, les bûcherons illégaux et, de façon croissante, les cultures illicites de coca et les activités liées au trafic de drogue sur leur territoire ancestral. Ils font face aux menaces lancées par les colons envahissant leurs terres : en 2012, Eliseo Picón, un membre de la communauté, a été tué ; Quant à Roberto et Teofilo, ils continuent à recevoir des menaces de mort.

Le 21 septembre 2017, pour la première fois dans l’histoire du Pérou, ces deux communautés, les communautés natives Shipibo Conibo de Nueva Saposoa et de Patria Nueva, ont été officiellement habilités à exercer le rôle de « surveillants la forêt » par l’Etat.

Cela confère à ces communautés une reconnaissance juridique historique pour faire respecter la loi forestière péruvienne au sein de leurs titres fonciers, y compris le pouvoir d’interrompre des activités d’extraction et de transport des ressources naturelles, et permet aussi de mettre en place un lien direct avec les autorités forestières.

Recognition to Land, Territories and Resources

Communities need ownership over their ancestral land in order to protect forests. With no formal land title traditional communities often face serious conflict when trying to evict illegal loggers, poachers and land grabbers. Who will believe their claims without precise maps and legal title deeds?

En savoir plus

Skip to main content

Communities Combat Coca Growers

Peruvian state formally recognise forest guardians

Location

Peru

Released

September 2017

Duration

7:42

Tags
  • Land Rights
  • Participatory-made film
  • Peru

Roberto, Teofilo and the Shipibo Conibo communities of Patria Nueva and Nueva Saposoa have been managing their forest for decades. They use an innovative forest monitoring system that incorporates traditional foot patrols and the latest technology-including GPS, smart phone applications, satellite-generated deforestation alerts and drones. These tools have have allowed the community monitors, alongside government officials, to locate and identify land invaders, illegal loggers, and increasingly, the illicit cultivation of coca and drug trafficking activities in their ancestral territory. They face threats from invading colonialists and in 2012 community member Eliseo Picón was killed; Roberto and Teofilo continue to receive death threats.

After the making of this film, on 21st September 2017, for the first time in the history of Peru, these two indigenous communities, the Shipibo Conibo Native Communities of Nueva Saposoa and Patria Nueva, have been officially accredited as Forest Monitors by the State.

It bestows these communities with the historic legal recognition to enforce the Peruvian forest law within their land titles, including the authority to decommission the extraction and transport of natural resources and a direct link to forest authorities.

New fresh look, we're still working on making improvements